Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Prev article
End of an Era
Next article
Time to read
less than
1 minute
Read so far

Texas Historical Commission honors Liberty County

  • Article Image Alt Text
    Members of the Liberty County Historical Commission look on as Liberty County Judge Jay Knight reads a proclamation honoring them for their 2020 Distinguished Service Award during Commissioner’s Court Tuesday. (L to R): Neal Thornton, Klint Bush, Sheryl

The Texas Historical Commission recently announced the 2020 Distinguished Service Awards recipients for their hard work and dedication to preserving local history across the state. This is the eighth year the local commission has received the honor under Chairwoman Linda Jamison.

Counties submit a report of their efforts each year and must answer various questions pertaining to the projects and work they perform. Liberty County has continued to preserve, and in some cases, restore local cemeteries across the county, in which there are over 100. They have also continued efforts on the Liberty County Historical Marker program. That program honors significant Liberty County history that may not meet the regional and state-level criteria for a historical marker.

“It means a lot to be recognized by the Texas Historical Commission for all of the historical work that we do,” said Jamison.

Liberty County Judge Jay Knight praised the organization and all the work they do as volunteers to preserve the rich local history of Liberty County during the Commissioner’s Court meeting Tuesday morning.

Liberty County was one of 84 counties recognized out of the 254 total counties in Texas.