Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
2 minutes
Read so far

Local cities see big changes in leadership

  • Article Image Alt Text
    75th District Judge Mark Morefield delivers the oath of office to incumbent Chipper Smith, and newly elected council members Tommy Brents and Ed Seymour at Tuesday night’s Liberty City Council meeting. The Vindicator | Russell Payne

Saturday’s election was chalked full of headlines, with several contentious races that could change the direction of many local governing bodies in the near future. The cities of Cleveland, Dayton, Liberty and Ames will be undergoing substantial changes to their city leadership.

In the City of Cleveland voters sent James Franklin and Delores Terry packing. Now there will be three new council members when all is said and done, as voters also decided on the seat left open by former councilman Danny Lee.

This could be significant as both Franklin and Terry had voted alongside Councilwoman Carolyn McWaters in the controversial hiring of City Manager Stacy Williams. Cleveland Mayor Richard Boyett has vowed to make it his mission to fire Williams and previously promised he would use the council elections to aid in his mission.

Franklin lost the position 3 seat outright to former Liberty County Commissioner Pct. 3 Eddie Lowery, while Terry came in third to Desiree D. David and Rachel Hall. Those two will face off in a runoff for position 4 set for June 18 because neither received more than 50% of the vote.

There will be a second runoff for Lee’s former seat, with Fred Terrell, who just missed out on more than 50%, and Mike Doyle vying for position 5.

Voters in Dayton elected a pair of new city council members, as voters chose former Councilman Dwight Pruitt in a close race with Tonya Smikal for position 1. At the same time, Janette Goulder-Frick unseated incumbent Sherial Lawson in a tight race for position 2 that saw Josh Townsend place third. John Headrick faced no opponent and was reelected to position 3.

Dayton voters also decided to move to new threeyear term limits and at large positions beginning next year with the mayor. There were also several housekeeping items on the charter that were all approved.

One of the bigger surprises of the night came in the City of Liberty, where longtime councilman Dr. David Arnold was defeated in the at-large race for three council seats. Voters were sure to gain one new council member, with the Neal Thornton not seeking another term, but there will be two new city leaders. Tommy Brents led all candidates, followed by Ed Seymour, and in third was incumbent Councilman Chipper Smith.

Liberty County’s three larger cities are not the only ones undergoing significant change after Saturday night’s results, the City of Ames also joined in the changes. Two incumbents were defeated when Elizabeth Hardy supplanted Position 2 Councilman Reggie Rollins, while Eugene E. Redmon placed third. Alfred Lee Freeman Jr defeated Barbara Domain in the position 4 race. Michael Trahan fended off opposition from Wellona Robertson and Quatomonique Childress for position 1.

In the City of Daisetta, there will be a new council member as Lori Tidwell defeated Rodger D. Slusher in the sole contested race for position 3 on the council.

Hardin voters appear to be satisfied with their current representation as they reelected councilmen Tommy Small and David Meadows to places 3 and 4.

City of Ames

Position 1 Michael Trahan *65

Wellona Robertson 21

Quatomonique Childress 6

Position 2

Elizabeth Hardy *52

Reggie Rollins 24

Eugene E. Redmon 13

Position 4

Barbara Domain 41

Alfred Lee Freeman Jr. *49

City of Cleveland Position 3

Position 3 Eddie C. Lowery *375

James Franklin 240

Position 4


Desiree D. David **258

Rachell Hall **219

Delores Terry 160

Position 5


Fred Terrell **308

Mike Doyle **206

Erika Montesnieto 110

City of Daisetta

Position 3

Lori L. Tidwell *83

Rodger D. Slusher, Sr. 27

City of Dayton

Position 1

Tonya Smikal 284

Dwight Pruitt *295

Position 2

Janette Goulder-Frick *208

Josh Townsend 161

Sherial L. Lawson 191

City Hardin

Place 3

Phyllis Lewing 42

Tommy Small *84

Place 4

Julie Terry 44

David Meadows *89

City of Liberty

(At Large 3 Positions)

Tommy Brents *356

Ed Seymour *335

David W. Arnold 274

J.L. “Chipper” Smith *303