Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Dayton to host dedication ceremony at veteran memorial

Posted in:
  • Article Image Alt Text
    The Vindicator | Russell Payne
  • Article Image Alt Text

The City of Dayton and Entergy Texas have been working on filling in the empty spaces on the Dayton Veterans Memorial Wall for the past couple of years, as they reached out to the community to submit the names of area veterans to be included on the wall. Now that work will culminate in a special dedication ceremony on Tuesday, Dec. 7 at 5 pm, honoring the 83 veterans added to the memorial.

Entergy provided a $5,000 grant to help fund the project, while the city funded the remaining money to purchase and install the plaques. The city received around 150 names to be included on the wall.

The city is asking the community to spread the word and let these veterans know about the ceremony. Former Dayton Mayor Steve Stephens will deliver the keynote address at the ceremony.

Veterans being added to the wall are:

Leonard R. Smith

Kelsey Crowson Silbernagel

Luke H. St. Julian

Joseph W. St. Julian

Drence L. Krigar

Ralph C. Villermin

Jeremy W. Johnson

Norman W. White

Alfred A. Bederka

Ray H. Bederka

Charles L. Bederka

Jimmy L. Bederka

Johnny Carter

Bobby Bardwell

James M. Armer

Robert Boumanskie

John Allen Phillips

Jesse Klimitchek

Charles Burwick

Larry D. Neuman

Franklin D. Neuman

Kennie Passmore Ron J. Peroni

Francis Joseph Buehta

Bobby H. Payne

Wiley Smith Jr.

Linda J. Gates Black

Tommie John Douglas

H.E. Buzz Williams

Jesse Houston Barton

Jesse Wayne Taylor

Donny Reeves

Bobby D. Jones

Roland R. Lavergne

Douglas G. Buxton

Henry H. Buxton

Charles W. Buxton

Addison Glenn Tilton

Donald H. Wilson

Ronnie G. Ripkowski

R. Mark Ripkowski

Ken Campbell

Marcus Ray White

Rayland James Pitre

Ronald L. Najera

Charles Ray Pafford

Ronnie G. Carter

Samuel Sadler

Merle R. Jackson

Travis J. Lechowit

William M. Lechowit

Elton K. Mayes

Adrian R. Touchstone

James Edgar Lee

Chris Duos

Eric L Ibarra

Edward Vyoral

Slade Rieves

Jerry W. Wilson

Arthur S. Joy

William Lechowit

Bennie Curtis

Mark A. Morefield

Michael Pickard

Rodney G. Stephens

Charles K. Windham

Vernon Young

Jamie Neault

Edgar S. Speck

John S. Robertson

Lamar E. Touchstone Sr.

Lamar E. Touchstone Jr.

TJ Crayton

J. Aaron DeLaughter

Johnnie L. Duncan

Douglas Gross

Lester Melvin Jolly

Kenneth Paul Jolly

Claudie Ray Jolly

Ivory Kelley

Clinton Majors

Alton Owen Moore

James D. Buchta