Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
less than
1 minute
Read so far

School board races yield few changes

  • Article Image Alt Text

Cleveland, Hardin, and Hull-Daisetta ISDs were the only Liberty County school systems with contests on the Saturday ballot. Of the eight contested races, there will only be two new school board members taking office.

In Cleveland, longtime board member and current Board President Willie Carter pulled out a close contest against LaDerrington Baldwin to retain trustee position 4. In the race for position 5 incumbent, Amanda Sandoval Brooks had a more comfortable victory over Sharica S. Lewis.

Hardin ISD may have had the hottest races anywhere in the county, with the highest voter participation in the area.

Of the four races on the ballot, four incumbents were up for reelection, and all but one failed to retain their seats. James Bubba Campbell lost to Stephanie Johnson Clark, with Charlie Wakefield taking the third spot in the race for place 3. In the race for Place 4, Dana Holst was re-elected over Joey Scheffler. Charles Bolds won handily over Jennifer Parker in place 5. Finally, Michelle Hotaling won place 7 over Bethany Walker.

In the Hull-Daisetta races, Bradley Davis outbid Anna Lou Warren and Colby Fregia to fill the vacant seat in Position 6, while Anthony Gerard Eaglin was re-elected to Position 7 over Jim Parker.

Cleveland ISD


Trustee Position 4

LaDerrington Baldwin 307

Willie Carter *348

Trustee Position 5

Sharica S. Lewis 270

Amanda Sandoval Brooks *384

Hardin ISD

Trustee 3

James Bubba Campbell 348

Charlie Wakefield Stephanie Johnson 114

Stephanie Johnson Clark *410

Trustee 4

Dana Holst *520

Joey Scheffler 329

Trustee 5

Jennifer Parker 270

Charles Bolds *581

Trustee 7

Bethany Walker 338

Michelle Hotaling *454

Hull-Daisetta ISD

Trustee Position 6

Bradley Davis *130

Anna Lou Warren 84

Colby Fregia 88

Trustee Position 7

Anthony Gerard Eaglin *190

Jim Parker 104