Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Changes for Cleveland and Dayton

Posted in:
  • Article Image Alt Text

The UIL announced its two-year Realignment on Thursday morning, and several local schools were affected significantly. The Cleveland Indians are now clearly the biggest school in the area, as they have jumped to the biggest class in the state in 6A. Cleveland will be competing in District 13-6A with Conroe, Caney Creek, Grand Oaks, Oak Ridge, The Woodlands, College Park, New Caney, and Willis for the next two seasons.

The Dayton Broncos will be doing some traveling in the next couple of years. For football, Dayton will now complete in District 9-5A Region III with Fort Bend Marshall, Fort Bend Willowridge. Galena Park, Nederland, Port Neches-Groves, Santa Fe, and Texas City. Out are local rivals Barbers Hill and Crosby, who both made a move to Class 5A Division I along with Kingwood Park. The big jump for the Broncos will be in volleyball and basketball as they will take part in the new District 16-5A Region II with Kingwood Park, Huntsville, Lufkin, Nacogdoches, and Porter. Yes, Dayton fans, that is correct, you are now in a district with Huntsville, Lufkin, and Nacogdoches, which will make for some long road trips, with the drive to Nac a tad over 240 miles roundtrip.

The Panthers of Liberty will participate in District 9-4A Region III on the football field with Bridge City, Hamshire-Fannett, Hardin-Jefferson, Silsbee, West Orange-Stark, and newcomer the Jasper Bulldogs taking the spot previously held by Orangefield. For basketball and volleyball, the Panthers will face Hamshire-Fannett, Hardin-Jefferson, Huffman, Livingston, and Splendora in District 20-4A.

Hardin and Tarkington will still face each other on the football field with Anahuac, Buna, Kirbyville, Orangefield, and East Chambers in District 10-3A. For volleyball and basketball, Hardin will participate in 22-3A with Anahuac, Buna, Kirbyville, Kountze, Orangefield, Warren, and East Chambers. For Tarkington in volleyball, the Lady Horns will have Anderson-Shiro, Coldspring, Crockett, New Waverly, Onalaska, Shepherd, and Trinity.

On the football field, the Hull-Daisetta Bobcats will play in District 12-2A Region III with Colmesneil, Deweyville, Evadale, Lovelady, and Sabine Pass. The Bobcats will be in District 25-2A Region IIII with Big Sandy, Deweyville, Evadale, Sabine Pass, and West Hardin for basketball and volleyball.